Skip to main content
Alternate members

Planning Panel Boundaries and Members

Sydney Western City Planning Panel

The Chair of the Sydney Western City Planning Panel is Justin Doyle.


Justin Doyle is a lawyer with over twenty years experience in planning and environment law, as a solicitor and then as a barrister. Justin has been Chair of the Sutherland IHAP since 2012.

Justin has been involved in a number of significant developments in New South Wales, including the airport at Badgerys Creek, and has litigated in the Supreme Court.

Justin has a Bachelor of Arts Law with honours in Law, and is a member of the NSW Bar Association and the Environmental Planning and Law Association.

State Members

Bruce McDonald

Bruce McDonald has extensive experience in local government and planning, having served with Penrith City Council in a range of planning roles for over 35 years, culminating in an appointment as Deputy General Manager.

While now retired from full time employment Bruce maintains a keen interest in planning and local government issues.

Bruce is a Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia

Nicole Gurran

Nicole Gurran is Professor of Urban and Regional Planning at the University of Sydney. Nicole has led and collaborated on numerous research projects, with a focus on affordable housing, and has worked with local and State government in several roles related to planning and housing issues. Nicole directs the University’s Australian Housing and Urban Research Institute (AHURI) node.

Nicole lives in Sydney and has a Masters degree in Urban and Regional Planning from the University of Sydney. She is a Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia and an Executive Member of the International Urban Planning and Environment Association. Nicole also has a Doctorate of Philosophy, a Graduate Certificate in Higher Education and a Bachelor of Arts, all from the University of Sydney.