Skip to main content
This is an image of people on a crossing

Help and Resources

NSW Planning Portal reference groups

Our reference groups allows us to communicate better
to councils, industry and other State agencies.

The NSW Planning Portal includes 32 digital services covering the planning approval pathways from proposals in strategic planning to occupational certificates for completed buildings. 

To ensure we improve the customer experience and enhance workflow efficiencies for users of the NSW Planning Portal, the Department established ePlanning (now NSW Planning Portal) Reference Groups in 2019. 

Currently, three NSW Planning Portal reference groups meet quarterly. These groups consist of councils, agencies and industry, and include nominated representatives that provide feedback on the NSW Planning Portal.

Summaries of the discussion held at the reference group meetings will be available on this webpage.

NSW Planning Portal Council Reference Group


In January 2024, we extended an invitation to all NSW councils to join the NSW Planning Portal Council Reference Group. The call for nominations was open from 16 January to 7 February 2024, and the Department received 100 nominations. 

The nominations were reviewed and the membership for the groups was finalised in February 2024. The members are:

High volume
Albury City Council Ballina Shire Council Bayside Council
Bega Valley Shire Council Blacktown City Council Camden Council
Campbelltown City Council Canterbury Bankstown Council Central Coast Council
Clarence Valley Council Coffs Harbour City Council Council of the City of Sydney
Cumberland Council Dubbo Regional Council Eurobodalla Shire Council
Georges River Council Hills Shire Council Hornsby Council
Inner West Council Kempsey Shire Council Ku-ring-gai Council
Lake Macquarie City Council Lane Cove Council Lismore City Council
Liverpool City Council Maitland Council Mid-Coast Council
Murray River Council Newcastle City Council North Sydney Council
Northern Beaches Council Orange City Council Parramatta Council
Penrith City Council Port Macquarie-Hastings Council Port Stephens Council
Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council Shoalhaven City Council Singleton Council
Sutherland Shire Council Tamworth Regional Council Tweed Shire Council
Wagga Wagga City Council Waverley Council Willoughby City Council
Wingecarribee Shire Council Woollahra Council Wollondilly Shire Council
Wollongong City Council    

Note: In addition to the NSW Councils above, representatives from Local Government NSW, National Local Government Customer Service Network, Regional Cities NSW and Planning Institute of Australia (NSW) also form part of the NSW Planning Portal Council Reference Groups.

Medium to low volume
Armidale Regional Council Balranald Shire Council Bathurst Regional Council
Bellingen Shire Council Berrigan Shire Council Bland Shire Council
Blayney Shire Council Blue Mountains City Council Burwood Council
Byron Shire Council Canada Bay Council Central Darling Shire Council
Cessnock City Council Coolamon Shire Council Council of the City of Ryde
Cowra Shire Council Dungog Shire Council Fairfield City Council
Federation Council Gilgandra Shire Council Goulburn Mulwaree Council
Greater Hume Shire Council Griffith City Council Gunnedah Shire Council
Gwydir Shire Council Hawkesbury City Council Hay Shire Council
Hilltops Council Junee Shire Council Kiama Municipal Council
Lithgow City Council Lockhart Shire Council Mid-Western Regional Council
Mosman Municipal Council Murrumbidgee Council Muswellbrook Shire Council
Narrabri Shire Council Narrandera Shire Council Narromine Shire Council
Oberon Council Parkes Shire Council Richmond Valley Council
Shellharbour City Council Snowy Valleys Council Strathfield Municipal Council
The Shire of Bourke Council Temora Shire Council Upper Hunter Shire Council
Upper Lachlan Shire Council Uralla Shire Council  Yass Valley Council

If you did not submit a nomination, and your council would like to be involved in the NSW Planning Portal Reference Groups, please email: Caitlin Williams

NSW Planning Portal Agency Reference Group


The NSW Planning Portal Agency Reference Group has representatives from 11 organisations. The current membership is:

•    Ausgrid
•    Department of Customer Service (Building Commission NSW)
•    Department of Planning, Housing and Infrastructure (Alpine region)
•    Department of Climate Change, Energy and the Environment and Water (Heritage NSW)
•    Fire and Rescue NSW
•    Building Commission NSW
•    Rural Fire Service
•    State Insurance Regulatory Authority (SIRA)
•    Sydney Water
•    Transport NSW
•    Transport NSW (Maritime)

NSW Planning Portal Industry Reference Group


The NSW Planning Portal Industry Reference Group has representatives from 11 organisations. The current membership is:

•    Australian Consulting Surveyors NSW 
•    Association of Australian Certifiers (NSW) 
•    Ethos Urban
•    Housing Industry Association (NSW)
•    Master Builders Association NSW 
•    MMJ Real Estate
•    Planning Institute of Australia (NSW) represented by Juliet Grant (Gyde Consulting)
•    Property Council
•    Urban Development Institute of Australia (NSW)
•    Urban Taskforce
•    Urbis

Last updated: 09/04/2024