NSW Forest Agreements

The NSW forest agreement regions dataset contains the boundaries of the four current NSW forest agreements which cover the eastern areas of NSW. The regions include the Upper North East, Lower North East, Eden and Southern.

NSW forest agreements provide a framework for long-term decisions on forest use and management. They were formed from consultation and consensus established between the NSW Government and major forest stakeholders.

Forest agreements impart certainty for industry, conservation and the community. They deliver on the NSW Government's forest policy to:

• protect environmental values in a world-class system of national parks and other reserves

• encourage the creation of forest industries that are strong, competitive and ecologically sustainable

• manage native forests in an ecologically sustainable way.

The agreements are for 20 years and progress on their implementation is reported annually. Further information on each NSW forest agreement is available on the EPA website at


Organisation: Environment Protection Authority (EPA)

The NSW Environment Protection Authority (EPA) is the primary environmental regulator for New South Wales. We partner with business, government and the community to reduce... Read more

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Metadata template type Vector
Asset Type Dataset
Edition v1
Purpose The NSW forest agreement regions dataset defines the geographic boundaries of the Upper North East, Lower North East, Eden and Southern forest agreement regions.
Update Frequency Not planned
OEH Service EPA Service
Keywords BOUNDARIES-Administrative
Equivalent Scale 25000
Geospatial Topic
    NSW Place Name NSW
    Geospatial Coverage

    Dataset extent

    Temporal Coverage From 11/08/1999 - 11/08/2011
    Datum GDA94 Geographic (Lat\Long)
    Licence Creative Commons Attribution
    Landing page https://www.planningportal.nsw.gov.au/opendata/dataset/nsw-forest-agreements
    Legal Disclaimer Read
    Attribution Environment Protection Authority (EPA) asserts the right to be attributed as author of the original material in the following manner: "© State Government of NSW and Environment Protection Authority (EPA) 2021"