Skip to main content
Alternate members

Planning Panel Boundaries and Members

Southern Regional Planning Panel

The Chair of the Southern Regional Planning Panel is Chris Wilson.


Chris Wilson

Chris Wilson has over 34 years’ planning experience in both the private and public sectors.

He has a strong record for delivering strategic advice to government, industry, and the wider community on major projects, environmental impact assessment, and land use planning matters.

Chris has been a member of the Independent Planning Commission since August 2018 and the NSW Expert Housing Advisory Committee since 2020.

State Members

Grant Christmas 

Grant is an experienced and respected solicitor and former town planner who has practised for over 30 years in the areas of local government administration, town planning, environmental assessment and planning and environmental law.

Grant is the principal of the boutique law firm, Apex Planning and Environment Law, which is located in Brookvale NSW.  Grant is also currently the Chair of Sutherland Local Planning Panel, and the alternate chair of the Canterbury Bankstown Local Planning Panel. Grant also sits as an expert member on the Camden, Central Coast, Cumberland, Liverpool and North Sydney Local Planning Panels.

Grant holds a Bachelor of Town Planning from the University of New South Wales and a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Technology Sydney. Grant is an accredited specialist in local government and planning law as awarded by the Law Society of NSW and is currently a Member of the Law Society’s Specialist Accreditation Committee (Planning and Environment). 

Juliet Grant

Juliet Grant is a respected and experienced planner with 30 years strategic and statutory experience in local and state government and the consulting environment. She has a deep knowledge of the political, policy and legislative environment and an in depth understanding of government processes and how to apply them. 

Juliet is immediate past President of the Planning Institute of Australia’s NSW Division and is a Fellow of PIA and Registered Planner with accreditation under the NSW Government Environmental Assessment Practitioner (REAP) Scheme.

Juliet is a Commissioner on the Independent Planning Commission and is an expert member of the  Georges River, Hornsby and Hawkesbury Local Planning Panels. Juliet was previously a state appointed expert member on the Hunter and Central Coast Planning Panel (2019-2022).

Last updated: 11/07/2023